Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: At First Blush by Beth Ellyn Summer


This bookish meme tells the blogosphere what we're waiting patiently (and sometimes not so patiently) for! It's hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine!

At First Blush

Who would have thought that a teenager could have a successful career creating makeup tutorial videos on YouTube? For Lacey Robbins, this dream has been her reality. An up-and-coming YouTuber, she has thousands of fans and can't wait for the day when her subscriber count reaches the one million mark. And when she is offered a high school internship at On Trend Magazine, she figures that this could be the make it or break it moment.

But sometimes your dream job isn't all that it seems. Her editor is only interested in promoting junk products, and her boss in the Hair and Makeup department introduces her to the larger world of makeup artistry, making her wonder if making tutorials online is all she is meant to do. To top it all off, when the magazine's feature subject , musician Tyler Lance, turns his broodingly handsome smile her way, falling for him could mean losing her fans, forcing her to make a decision: her YouTube life or her real life?

Fans of Zoella's GIRL ONLINE will fall right into the world of this YA DEVIL WEARS PRADA and stay hooked from the first blush to the last glossy kiss.


Published by: Bloomsbury Spark
Expected Publication: April 4, 2017

Why I'm Waiting: Can we talk about how relevant this is? Frankly, to be honest I don't understand why there aren't more books about someone who is a You-Tuber.... It may seem like it might date it, but I think this is still a book that teens now would like. Especially those interested in You-Tube or make up. (I really wish this had come out during Teen Tech Week [March 5-11, 2017], but I digress.)

What about you?
Will you be waiting on this with me?

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Top Ten Books You'll Wish you Had Time to Read in a Day!

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the BookishEach week we will post a new Top Ten list. Everyone is welcome to join. 

This week's topic is:
Top Ten Books You'll Wish you Had Time to Read in a Day!

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1)The Serpent King
Thirteen Reasons WhyThe Hate U Give
Dear MartinCaraval (Caraval, #1)
Scythe (Arc of a Scythe, #1)The Sun Is Also a Star
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows, #2)With Malice


Monday, March 20, 2017

You're Welcome Universe by Whitney Gardner

e-ARC, 304 pages
Release Date: March 7, 2017
Published by: Knopf
Read from: March 11-16 , 2017 
Stand-alone
Source: Netgalley (I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a just and honest review. This did nothing to influence my review.) 
For fans of: Marginalized Voices, Disability, Contemporary, YA

     A vibrant, edgy, fresh new YA voice for fans of More Happy Than Not and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, packed with interior graffiti.
     When Julia finds a slur about her best friend scrawled across the back of the Kingston School for the Deaf, she covers it up with a beautiful (albeit illegal) graffiti mural.
     Her supposed best friend snitches, the principal expels her, and her two mothers set Julia up with a one-way ticket to a “mainstream” school in the suburbs, where she’s treated like an outcast as the only deaf student. The last thing she has left is her art, and not even Banksy himself could convince her to give that up.
     Out in the ’burbs, Julia paints anywhere she can, eager to claim some turf of her own. But Julia soon learns that she might not be the only vandal in town. Someone is adding to her tags, making them better, showing off—and showing Julia up in the process. She expected her art might get painted over by cops. But she never imagined getting dragged into a full-blown graffiti war.
     Told with wit and grit by debut author Whitney Gardner, who also provides gorgeous interior illustrations of Julia’s graffiti tags, You’re Welcome, Universe introduces audiences to a one-of-a-kind protagonist who is unabashedly herself no matter what life throws in her way.

*MY THOUGHTS*

     To be honest, what made me want to review this one was the cover. I was definitely feeling the super bright colors and I needed to know what was in between those pages. And I'm so glad I picked this one up, because I was in for a special surprise!
"It always baffles me when people thin I'm just typing things out to be different."
18%
     Julia is helping out her best friend when she's caught. She's expelled and sent to a school of "hearies." Julia is Deaf and some kids treat her horribly. She hangs on to one thing: her art. She begins painting again, but soon finds herself in a war.
"Words are only words."
25%
     I LOVED the marginalized voices in this one! Julia has two moms, she's Deaf, and they're people of color. This book helps the readers learn so much about different languages, cultures, and lifestyles and I was all here for it. 
"The words don't make you. YOU make you."
25%
     I also loved the artwork. I wish I had read a final copy though to see it in its full glory. In the e-ARC the format was kind of wonky so some of it was cutoff and on different pages and it was a little annoying. I can see myself reading this again as a finished copy. 
"What we make is bigger than the both of us."
70%
     My main issue with the book was the plot. It was so S L O W and by the time it picked up, it was at the end. i wanted to see more about the back and forth from the war,by the time she strted really painting, they had already revealed who it was. I just wish I could have had a little bit more "umph" before the rushed ending. 
"Silence is the loudest sound."
86%
     I seem to pick up a lot of books on a whim, and normally I'm disappointed with those. But this one was a good pick. I did pretty good with picking this one. Let's see what else Gardner has up her sleeve after this book!
Overall, I give this

Sunday, March 19, 2017

Stacking the Shelves #215 & the Weekly Wrap-Up!

This bookish meme tells the blogosphere what all we borrowed, bought, and received for review. It's hosted over at Tynga's Reviews.

From the Library:
Traitor to the Throne (Rebel of the Sands, #2)

Through my Fairy Bookmother @knoxdiver:
Dear Martin

The Weekly Wrap-Up!

Monday 03/13/17:  Beauty and the Beast book tag!
Tuesday 03/14/17: Top 10 Books on my Spring TBR! 
Wednesday 03/15/17: Waiting on Wednesday: Dear Martin by Nic Stone
Thursday 03/16/2017:  No Post
Friday 03/17/17: Follow Friday: Graphic Novel Fun!

Me on Instagram @take_me_awayyy:


What went on at your blog this week?



Saturday, March 18, 2017

Beauty & the Beast (Live Action Movie!)





PG, 129 minutes
Release Date: March 17, 2017

  An adaptation of the Disney fairy tale about a monstrous-looking prince and a young woman who fall in love. (From IMDb)

*MY THOUGHTS*

     I have to say I enjoyed thid more than the Cinderella live action remake. I'm not sure if it's because this is my favorite childhood Disney movie, but whatever the case may be, I was super happy I was able to see this in my lifetime. 
     I loved that it was the same plot, but there was still some originality to it. Original songs and they didn't do the movie word for word either which I was so happy about. (However I did miss my "Off to the cupboard with you now, Chip." lol) 
     I really, REALLY liked the music. Although Emma Watson was a bit autotuned at times, it was still amazing. I  loved the new music and felt they were great additions to the movie. I found myself singing Bonjour and saying Good morning Belle to myself throughout the entire night and the next day. (That's how obsessed I was with the soundtrack!)
     As far as the acting, I really loved them all. They all made the perfect characters and I loved being able to see them act out my favorite fairy tale. Also, I loved that they protrayed everyone how they were supposed to.
     As far as my favorite scenes, I LOVED them and they became my favorites all over again. I was absolutely amazed at Be Our Guest and I cried at the Ballroom Scene. At the end I KNEW what would happen, and yet I was still biting my nails! This is how into this movie I was. It was everything I needed and I didn't even know it.
     This movie was everything I wanted it to be. So much so that I want to see it again. I love this decision to do everything live action from Disney. I hope to be able to see them all!
Overall, I give this